Energy

Energy

Application

The Free Piston Electric Power Plant

The increasing expansion of fluctuating renewable energy sources such as solar power plants and wind turbines means new challenges for the energy market. To guarantee both stability in the power grid and the usual reliability of the supply, power plant managers must now deal not just with a volatile demand for electricity but also volatile electricity generation. There is a need for flexible, controllable power plants that, as reserve plants, can react quickly to possible fluctuations.

As a controllable electricity generator in a free piston electric power plant, the FreeP can meet the demands placed on such reserve plants. It is versatile and can be used on all scales. As a combined heat and power unit, in the private domain the FreeP can achieve cogeneration and in so doing utilise over 90 % of the energy stored in the fuel. In exactly the same way, the free piston electric power plant can also serve as a “conventional” power plant purely for electricity generation, or can be used as a “controllable electricity generator” in a virtual power plant. In this context, efficiency, future viability, modularity and costs ensure the free piston electric power plant a decisive advantage over other technologies on the market.

Potentials

Controllable, Decentralised Energy Supply

The power output of the free piston electric power plant can be quickly regulated across a wide power range (modulation). Due to the absence of a crankshaft and the integration of the linear generator, no new developments in a different size are necessary for scaling the power. Instead, several identical modules are merely operated together and connected electrically in parallel.

The entire performance spectrum up to about 2 megawatts can be covered extremely economically by just two different module sizes. For this, up to 10 modules are used in an electricity generation unit. Such plants, which tend to be from small to medium-sized in comparison with conventional power plants, permit the trend towards decentralised energy supply and are also predestined for use as part of a virtual power plant.

The efficiencies of the free piston electric power plant are at least 43 % indexed and 36.6 % at overall plant level, depending on the design. Overall, the efficiency of the FreeP is at the top end of the values that can be obtained with the best competing systems under optimum conditions. The low investment costs give the free piston electric power plant the crucial advantage. At just 165 €/kW, it is 80 % cheaper than existing comparable systems. The reason for the enormous savings potential is the use of the standardised modular system and the correspondingly large volumes. The vast majority of the components are even identical to the corresponding parts of the free piston electric vehicle, thereby massively increasing the volumes once again.

Potentials

Low Costs, Great Performance

Potentials

Unlimited Flexibility

The quality of bio-gas varies greatly in practice. One way by which manufacturers solve these problems is by reducing the compression ratio, thereby reducing efficiency. The free piston electric power plant on the other hand adapts itself to different fuels and fuel qualities thanks to its adaptive software control. This enables quality differences in bio-gas and natural gas to be balanced out, and the maximum compression ratio to be set so as to obtain maximum efficiency in each case. Possible fuels are natural gas, bio-gas, sewage gas, liquid gas and heating oil, with only one of these often being available depending on the application scenario.

© SWENGIN 2017

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Energy

Energy

Anwendungen

Das Free Piston Electric Powerplant

Der zunehmende Ausbau der fluktuativen erneuerbaren Energien wie beispielsweise Solar- und Windkraftanlagen stellt den Energiemarkt vor neue Herausforderungen. Um sowohl die Stabilität im Stromnetz als auch die gewohnte Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten, muss das Kraftwerksmanagement nun nicht mehr nur eine volatile Stromnachfrage, sondern auch eine volatile Stromerzeugung handhaben. Es bedarf flexibler, steuerbarer Kraftwerke, die als Reserveanlagen schnell auf mögliche Schwankungen reagieren können.

Der FreeP kann als steuerbarer Stromerzeuger in einem Free Piston Electric Powerplant die Anforderungen an solche Reserveanlagen erfüllen. Er ist vielseitig und in sämtlichen Größenordnungen einsetzbar. Als Blockheizkraft kann der FreeP im privaten Bereich eine Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung realisieren und somit über 90 % der im Brennstoff gespeicherten Energie nutzen. Genauso kann das Free Piston Electric Powerplant auch als „konventionelles“ Kraftwerk zur reinen Stromerzeugung dienen bzw. als „steuerbarer Stromerzeuger“ in einem virtuellen Kraftwerk eingesetzt werden. Effizienz, Zukunftssicherheit, Modularität und Kosten sichern dem Free Piston Electric Powerplant dabei einen entscheidenden Vorteil gegenüber anderen Technologien im Markt.

Potenziale

Steuerbare, dezentrale Energieversorgung

Die Leistungsabgabe des Free Piston Electric Powerplant ist schnell und über einen breiten Leistungsbereich regelbar (Modulation). Durch den Verzicht auf eine Kurbelwelle und die Integration des Lineargenerators ist zur Skalierung der Leistung keine Neuentwicklung in geänderter Größe erforderlich, sondern es werden lediglich mehrere identische Module gemeinsam betrieben und elektrisch parallel geschaltet.

Mit lediglich zwei verschiedenen Modulgrößen kann das gesamte Leistungsspektrum bis etwa 2 Megawatt höchst wirtschaftlich abgedeckt werden. Dabei kommen bis zu 10 Module in einer Stromerzeugungseinheit zum Einsatz. Solche im Vergleich zu konventionellen Kraftwerken eher kleinen bis mittelgroßen Anlagen ermöglichen den Trend zur dezentralen Energieversorgung und sind ebenfalls prädestiniert für den Einsatz als Teil eines virtuellen Kraftwerks.

Die Wirkungsgrade des Free Piston Electric Powerplant liegen je nach Auslegung bei mindestens 43 % indiziert und 36,6 % auf Gesamtsystemebene. Insgesamt befindet sich der Wirkungsgrad des FreeP am oberen Rand der mit den besten Konkurrenzsystemen unter optimalen Bedingungen erreichbaren Werte. Die geringen Investitionskosten schaffen dem Free Piston Electric Powerplant den entscheidenden Vorteil. Mit lediglich 165 €/kW ist es 80 % günstiger als heutige Vergleichssysteme. Der Grund für das enorme Einsparpotenzial liegt in der Nutzung des standardisierten Baukastensystems und der entsprechend hohen Stückzahl. Ein überwiegender Teil der Bauteile ist sogar identisch mit den entsprechenden Teilen des Free Piston Electric Vehicle, wodurch sich die Stückzahlen noch einmal massiv erhöhen.

Potenziale

Kleine Kosten, große Leistung

Potenziale

Flexibilität ohne Einschränkung

In der Praxis variiert die Qualität von Biogas stark. Hersteller lösen diese Probleme unter anderem durch ein Herabsetzen des Verdichtungsverhältnisses, was zur Minderung des Wirkungsgrades führt. Das Free Piston Electric Powerplant passt sich dagegen durch seine adaptive Software-Regelung an unterschiedliche Kraftstoffe bzw. Kraftstoffgüten an. So können Qualitätsunterschiede bei Biogas und Erdgas ausgeglichen und das maximale Verdichtungsverhältnis eingestellt werden, um jeweils den höchsten Wirkungsgrad zu erzielen. Als Brennstoffe kommen Erdgas, Biogas, Klärgas, Flüssiggas und Heizöl infrage, wobei je nach Anwendungsszenario häufig nur einer der Genannten zur Verfügung steht.

© SWENGIN 2017

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?