Automotive

Automotive

Application

The Free Piston Electric Vehicle

As the first universally usable hybrid-electric drive topology, the free piston electric vehicle employs an electric traction drive. Depending on the driving situation, the electrical energy required for this is supplied either from a battery or from one or more FreeP modules.

The battery provides the power and the FreeP are stopped when completely emission-free driving is required in urban areas. In the case of journeys outside cities with a medium power requirement, one FreeP module can generate just the right amount of power as is currently required for propulsion. Several FreeP modules work together to provide power if the driver fully accelerates or if the battery needs to be charged while the electric motor is being used. Battery power-only ranges are typically 50 to 60 km, while the total range depends entirely on the size of the tank, meaning that 800 km or more can easily be covered.

Potentials

Flexibility At The Highest Level

The variable compression of the FreeP enables the free piston electric vehicle to be adapted to different fuels: petrol, diesel, bio-ethanol, bio-diesel, natural gas, bio-fuel or even hydrogen can be used to operate the FreeP. Using for example petrol and bio-ethanol in the same engine is an easily conceivable scenario in practice. In the free piston electric vehicle, these fuels can be processed at a consistently high efficiency level and with a consistently high degree of effectiveness. In addition, in practical use the variable cubic capacity makes a valuable contribution to reducing fuel consumption and emissions of both nitrogen oxide and carbon dioxide. This applies under all conceivable operating conditions, especially outside the idealised world of standard consumption measurements. The FreeP easily complies with the current and actually foreseeable statutory requirements, which still leave sufficient leeway for the tightening-up of limit values beyond 2020 that is currently under discussion.

Thanks to its special design without a crankshaft, the FreeP is a particularly compact system that is completely mass-balanced and, as a result, extraordinarily quiet and low in vibrations. In addition, free piston electric vehicles can be designed for their specific purpose, meaning their architecture is conceived to create an electric vehicle right from the outset.

This means that separate engine compartments will no longer be provided in the way that we know them today. The entire power train, including the batteries and the FreeP, can be housed in the underbody, thus saving space and achieving a low centre of gravity since the FreeP is extremely compact at just 15 cm high. This opens up the possibility of completely new vehicle concepts.

Potentials

New Vehicle Concepts Thanks To A Compact Design

Potentials

E-Mobility For The Volume Market

Since absolutely no hardware adaptations are still necessary for different world markets and market segments, the wide variety is greatly reduced. A standardised FreeP module can also be used in a range of different vehicle classes with correspondingly different engine outputs while two or more of these modules are incorporated if greater outputs are required.

The modularisation and the standardised modular principle result in large volumes and make the free piston electric vehicle a mobility experience that is both suitable for everyday use and affordable.

© SWENGIN 2017

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Automotive

Automotive

Anwendung

Das Free Piston Electric Vehicle

Als erste universell einsetzbare, hybrid-elektrische Antriebstopologie setzt das Free Piston Electric Vehicle auf einen elektrischen Traktionsantrieb. Der dafür notwendige Strom kommt je nach Fahrsituation entweder aus einer Batterie oder aus einem bzw. mehreren FreeP-Modulen.

Wenn in der Stadt vollständig emissionsfrei gefahren werden soll, liefert die Batterie den Strom und die FreeP-Module stehen still. Bei Überlandfahrten mit mittlerem Leistungsbedarf kann ein FreeP-Modul gerade so viel Strom erzeugen, wie aktuell für den Vortrieb benötigt wird. Gibt der Fahrer „Vollgas“ oder soll zusätzlich zum Verbrauch des Elektromotors noch die Batterie aufgeladen werden, arbeiten mehrere FreeP-Module zusammen. Die rein batterieelektrische Reichweite beträgt dabei typischerweise 50 bis 60 km, während die Gesamtreichweite allein von der Größe des Tanks abhängt und somit problemlos 800 km und mehr erreichen kann.

Potenziale

Flexibilität auf höchstem Niveau

Aufgrund der variablen Verdichtung des FreeP, kann sich das Free Piston Electric Vehicle an unterschiedliche Kraftstoffe anpassen: Benzin, Diesel, Bio-Ethanol, Biodiesel, Erdgas, Biokraftstoff oder sogar Wasserstoff kann zum Betrieb des FreeP genutzt werden. Die Nutzung von beispielsweise Benzin und Bio-Ethanol in ein und demselben Motor ist in der Praxis ein gut vorstellbares Szenario. Diese Kraftstoffe können im Free Piston Electric Vehicle auf gleichbleibend hohem Effizienzniveau und mit gleichbleibend hohem Wirkungsgrad verarbeitet werden. Zusätzlich liefert der variable Hubraum in der praktischen Anwendung wertvolle Beiträge zur Reduzierung des Brennstoffverbrauchs sowie der Emissionen von Stickoxiden und Kohlendioxid. Dies gilt unter allen denkbaren Betriebsbedingungen, gerade auch außerhalb der idealisierten Welt von Norm-Verbrauchs-Messungen. Die heutigen und konkret absehbaren gesetzlichen Vorgaben werden durch den FreeP problemlos erfüllt und lassen noch ausreichend Spielraum für die aktuell diskutierte Verschärfung der Grenzwerte über 2020 hinaus.

Durch die besondere Bauweise ohne Kurbelwelle ist der FreeP ein besonders kompaktes System, das vollkommen massenausgeglichen und dadurch außerordentlich leise und vibrationsarm ist. Außerdem können Free Piston Electric Vehicles im sogenannten „Purpose Design“ entstehen, d.h. die Architektur ist von vornherein als Elektrofahrzeug ausgelegt.

Das bedeutet, dass kein separater Motorraum im heutigen Sinne mehr vorzusehen ist. Der gesamte Antriebsstrang einschließlich Batterien und FreeP kann platzsparend und schwerpunktgünstig im Unterboden untergebracht werden, begünstigt durch die äußerst geringe Bauhöhe von nur 15 cm. Dadurch werden völlig neue Fahrzeugkonzepte möglich.

Potenziale

Neue Fahrzeugkonzepte durch kompaktes Design

Potenziale

E-Mobilität für den Volumenmarkt

Da für unterschiedliche Weltmärkte und Marktsegmente keinerlei Hardware-Anpassungen mehr erforderlich sind, wird die Variantenvielfalt stark reduziert. Auch in unterschiedlichen Fahrzeugklassen mit entsprechend unterschiedlichen Motorleistungen kommt ein einheitliches FreeP-Modul zum Einsatz, welches zur Realisierung höherer Leistungen zwei- oder mehrfach im Fahrzeug verbaut wird.

Die Modularisierung und das standardisierte Baukastenprinzip führen zu großen Stückzahlen und machen das Free Piston Electric Vehicle zu einem alltagstauglichen und bezahlbaren Mobilitätserlebnis.

© SWENGIN 2017

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?