Software Meets Engine

Software Meets Engine

Software instead of a crankshaft

The Next Evolutionary Stage Of Engine Development – Or More Than That?

Do you remember your first car? It probably had an electric starter. Very, very few people reading this will have still cranked their combustion engine. Many however will certainly have driven with a carburettor or contact ignition – both of them mechanical systems and in today’s age of electronic engine controllers almost relics of a bygone age.

Since then we’ve observed a trend that continues today: perfecting the combustion engine with mechatronic components. Injection valves, turbochargers, valve gears – hardly any component would have been able to resist it. It is only thanks to the variability that electronics allows that it’s been possible for combustion engines to become as efficient and economical as we are accustomed to them being today.

However, the core of the combustion engine has remained unchanged since the days of Gottlieb Daimler. Pistons, connecting rods and crankshafts still govern the operation of every piston on a purely mechanical basis. This is precisely the point at which the FreeP concept comes in. For the first time, it will now be possible to also control piston movement electronically, with flexible control software replacing the connecting rod and crankshaft.

Variable compression ratio

Features On Demand

The elimination of forced guidance by the crankshaft opens up completely new possibilities for optimising the engine’s core: the combustion. One decisive factor here is for example the compression ratio – previously a design parameter that had to be determined once and in the case of which compromises were unavoidable.
With the FreeP on the other hand, the compression ratio is no longer defined by the designer but is instead determined continuously during operation of the engine controller. When the power requirement is low, compression at a higher ratio is possible than at full-load power, and with higher compression in winter than in summer. These adjustments are made permanently during operation, and run fully automatically without the user having to intervene. The electronics select a lower compression ratio for American “Regular” petrol than for European Super or Super Plus. The value can be increased even more for operation with gas or bio-fuels so as to make full use of their high knock resistance – increasing efficiency still further.

Naming

Nomen Est Omen

The great significance of a software controller is the basic philosophy behind the FreeP, from which many potentials are derived.

SWEngin is bringing together the worlds of software and combustion engines to an extent that has never been seen before – something which is apparent not just from the technical properties of the FreeP but also in our company name:

SoftWareEngine

© SWENGIN 2017

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

Software Meets Engine

Software meets Engine

Software statt Kurbelwelle

Die nächste Evolutionsstufe der Motorenentwicklung – oder mehr als das?

Erinnern Sie sich noch an ihr erstes Auto? Wahrscheinlich hatte es schon einen elektrischen Anlasser. Die wenigsten Leser dieser Zeilen werden Ihren Verbrennungsmotor noch angekurbelt haben. Manch einer fuhr aber wohl noch mit einem Vergaser oder einer Kontaktzündung – beides mechanische Systeme und in den heutigen Zeiten elektronischer Motorsteuerungen schon fast Relikte aus einer anderen Zeit.

Wir beobachten seither einen Trend, der sich bis heute fortsetzt: Die Perfektionierung des Verbrennungsmotors durch mechatronische Komponenten. Einspritzventile, Turbolader, Ventiltriebe – kaum ein Bauteil, das sich dem bis heute hätte widersetzen können. Nur durch die Variabilität, die die Elektronik ermöglicht, konnten Verbrennungsmotoren so leistungsstark und kostengünstig werden, wie wir es heute gewohnt sind.

Der Kern des Verbrennungsmotors blieb allerdings seit Gottlieb Daimler unverändert. Kolben, Pleuel und Kurbelwelle bestimmen bis heute rein mechanisch den Arbeitsablauf jedes Kolbens. Genau an dieser Stelle setzt das Konzept des FreeP an. Erstmals wird nun auch die Kolbenbewegung elektronisch steuerbar, anstelle von Pleueln und Kurbelwelle gibt es nun eine flexible Steuerungs-Software.

Variables Verdichtungsverhältnis

Features on demand

Der Entfall der Zwangsführung durch die Kurbelwelle eröffnet völlig neue Möglichkeiten, das Herzstück des Motors zu optimieren: die Verbrennung. Entscheidend ist dabei zum Beispiel das Verdichtungsverhältnis – bisher ein einmalig festzulegender Konstruktionsparameter, bei dessen Auslegung zwangsläufig Kompromisse zu treffen waren.

Beim FreeP wird das Verdichtungsverhältnis dagegen nicht vom Konstrukteur festgelegt, sondern kontinuierlich während des Betriebs von der Motorsteuerung. Bei geringem Leistungsbedarf kann höher verdichtet werden als bei Volllast, im Winter höher als im Sommer. Diese Anpassungen erfolgen permanent im Betrieb und laufen vollautomatisch ab, der Nutzer muss nicht eingreifen. Gibt es gerade amerikanisches „Regular“-Benzin, so wählt die Elektronik ein geringeres Verdichtungsverhältnis als bei europäischem Super oder Super Plus. Gerade beim Betrieb mit Gas oder Biokraftstoffen kann der Wert noch weiter erhöht werden, um deren hohe Klopffestigkeit voll auszuschöpfen – zugunsten eines noch höheren Wirkungsgrades.

Namensgebung

Nomen est omen

Der große Stellenwert einer Software-Steuerung ist die Grundphilosophie hinter dem FreeP, aus der sich eine Vielzahl von Potenzialen ableitet.

SWEngin bringt die Welt der Software und die der Verbrennungsmotoren in bisher nicht dagewesener Intensität zusammen – was nicht nur an den technischen Eigenschaften des FreeP erkennbar ist, sondern auch an unserem Firmennamen:

SoftWareEngine

© SWENGIN 2017

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?